How To Permanently Delete A Facebook Account
Here is the shortcut link to the official Facebook account deletion page.
A deceased member’s account can be memorialized or deleted.
The Facebook Account Deletion Process
Your account will be ‘deactivated’ for two weeks. After this period it will be permanently deleted.
Do not login to your account during this time. It will cancel the deletion request.
Do not be fooled into switching to a deactivation request. Deactivation is NOT deletion.
Consider an account deletion epitaph to notify friends of your departure.
What Happens To Your Data?
In theory, deleting your account immediately removes all Facebook data related to you. In reality it’s more complicated, taking about 90 days.
Allegations of complicity with National Security Agency surveillance suggest that your data may never truly be deleted.
You can still cleanse your Facebook presence for everyone else,
- Delete any sensitive content that you have posted.
- Contact friends about content that you would like deleted.
Backup your data before deletion if you’d like a copy.
Leaving Social Data Behind
As hard as you try, some personally identifiable information may remain. This could be something as simple as your name on a message.
You have little control over this or what others share about you in future. The most you can realistically do is ask your friends to respect your privacy.
Data shared with apps and advertisers is with them forever. As a Facebook user you are leaving behind a valuable personal data footprint.
What To Do Next
Facebook can track non-users via the ‘like’ button and other similar means. You can minimise this and protect your privacy from Facebook and others.
- Use a privacy focused browser like Brave, or try a tracking blocker in your favourite.
- Consider a reputable VPN like Freedome.
Facebook owns WhatsApp, Instagram, Oculus and can share data between these and its own products e.g. Facebook Messenger. Keep this in mind when using their apps.
Account Deletion Epitaph
Your profile absence could be confusing for friends and family. It is important to acknowledge that you are leaving Facebook.
I will not be available via Facebook from this point on as I am deleting my Facebook account.
I can be contacted at email@example.com
Please delete any data in your Facebook account that involves me. This includes conversations we’ve had and photos of me that you can part with.
Step-By-Step Deletion Guide
This guide will take you through a smooth and successful Facebook account deletion.
- Log in to Facebook.
- Backup your Facebook data if required.
The Account Deletion Process
A two week ‘deactivation’ period is enforced once you initiate permanent account deletion.
Logging in to your account during this time will cancel the deletion request.
To prevent this happening by accident,
- Revoke app permissions e.g. Spotify.
- Log out of or delete phone and tablet apps, including Facebook Home.
- Be wary of websites that allow you to login using Facebook.
- Lock down all privacy settings in case of accidental reactivation.
TIP! Change your password before deletion to minimise automatic login issues.
Do not be fooled into switching from a deletion request to a deactivation request. Facebook employs a few tricks to encourage this. Remember, deactivation is not deletion.
‘It typically takes about one month to delete an account, but some information may remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days.’(Facebook Data Use Policy).
Delete Sensitive Data
Facebook will delete your data upon account deletion, but shared data may remain.
- Delete any embarrassing pages,posts,messages and photos.
- Contact friends about shared content that you would like deleted.
Groups & Pages
If something important is organised primarily through a Facebook group, be sure to arrange alternative means of staying up to date.
If you run a group or page, ensure that administrator rights are shared with another account, assuming you wish to keep it. If not, here is how to delete a Facebook page.
It is important to remember that friends may still think you are on Facebook. They may attempt to invite you to events and send you messages.
Consider an account deletion epitaph to explain the situation, including alternative means of communication. This will avoid any confusion.
Ready To Delete Your Account?
- Go directly to the official account deletion page.
- Enter password, captcha security check etc.
Further Reactivation Traps
Facebook wants to keep you, your data is valuable.
You may be encouraged to cancel your deletion request or switch to a deactivated account. Ignore these messages.
Ignore any guilt trip stages of the deletion process. Things like your friends ‘missing you’ and notifications of activity you are missing.
Enjoy This Tip From iOSLIFT.com
‘And remember, where you have a concentration of power in a few hands, all too frequently men with the mentality of gangsters get control. History has proven that. All power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely.’ — Sir John Dalberg-Acton.